Mahashe George

Artist Name

Mahashe George

Residency Program Title

artists-in-labs South African - Swiss Residency Exchange

Residency Program

Archive

true

Institute Lab Title

Astronomy Department, University of Geneva

Artistic Background

Photography

Scientific Discipline

Astronomy

Video

Gallery

George Mahashe Portrait 2 Small

Biography

Biography

Johannesburg based artist George Mahashe (*1982, Bolobedu, South Africa) operates within the wider field of photography, particularly at the intersection of photography, anthropology, Balobedu archives, artistic practice and recently astronomy. He holds an MA in Fine Art from the University of Cape Town, where he is pursuing PhD in Fine Arts.

With photography as his focal point, George looks at the imagination manipulation and restoration of history. He is interested in photography's ability to foster dialogue between people, young or old, rural or urban. He argues that people tend to open up and respond when a photograph is presented because we all have an experience of photography, either as the subject, the photographer or as the viewer/audience. It is this quality that fascinates him and compels him to strive towards an understanding of what is it about photography that makes it so. His recent work focusses on the camera obscura as a medium to metaphorically dissociate photography from its traditional cultural context since its invention in 1839. George is particularly interested in how photography is implicated in almost all visual arts practices, and its ability to transgress between the different disciplines of art and the wider humanities. Besides his artistic practice he regularly contributes to academic conferences and symposia, and lectures in fine art and anthropology at Wits University. George is also the convenor of the "Defunct Context", which is a curatorial proposition at the Department of Social Anthropology ‘s ethnographic museum at Wits University.

Project

For this residency in the framework of the artists-in-labs South African-Swiss Residency Exchange 2018 he is focusing on the research on exoplanets, working in close collaboration with researchers of the University of Geneva’s Astronomy Department in Versoix.

Info

Website

www.georgemahashe.co.za

Mahashe George

Artist Name

Mahashe George

Residency Program Title

artists-in-labs South African - Swiss Residency Exchange

Residency Program

Archive

true

Institute Lab Title

Astronomy Department, University of Geneva

Artistic Background

Photography

Scientific Discipline

Astronomy

Video

Gallery

George Mahashe Portrait 2 Small

Biography

Biografie

Der in Johannesburg lebende und arbeitende Künstler George Mahashe (*1982, Bolobedu, Südafrika) arbeitet im weiteren Bereich der Fotografie, insbesondere an der Schnittstelle von Fotografie, Anthropologie, Balobedu-Archiven, künstlerischer Praxis und zeitgenössischer Astronomie. Er hat einen Masterabschluss in Bildender Kunst von der University of Cape Town UCT, wo er derzeit in Bildender Kunst promoviert.

Ausgehend vom Medium Fotografie beschäftigt sich Georges künstlerische Arbeit mit der Manipulation der Vorstellungskraft und der kritischen Aufarbeitung von Geschichte. Er interessiert sich für die Möglichkeit, über Fotografie den Dialog zwischen Menschen zu fördern - ob jung oder alt, auf dem Land oder in der Stadt. Er nutzt die Fotografie dabei als Türöffner: Menschen reagierten spontan, wenn ihnen ein Foto gezeigt würde, weil wir alle Erfahrungen mit Fotografie gemacht hätten, entweder als Motiv, als Fotograf oder als Betrachter. Es sei diese Qualität, die ihn fasziniere und dazu zwinge, nach einem Verständnis dessen zu suchen, was die Fotografie ausmacht. Seine jüngste Arbeit konzentriert sich auf die Camera Obscura als Medium zur metaphorischen Abgrenzung der Fotografie von ihrem tradierten kulturellen Kontext seit ihrer Erfindung im Jahre 1839. George interessiert sich auch dafür, wie die Fotografie in fast alle visuellen Kunstpraktiken eingebunden ist und wie sie die verschiedenen Disziplinen der Kunst und der Geisteswissenschaften miteinander vernetzt.

Neben seiner künstlerischen Tätigkeit trägt er regelmässig zu wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen und Symposien bei und hält Vorträge über Bildende Kunst und Anthropologie an der Wits University in Johannesburg. George ist auch der Organisator des "Defunct Context", einer kuratorischen Position am ethnographischen Museum des Department of Social Anthropology an der Wits University.

Projekt

Im Rahmen des artists-in-labs South African - Swiss Residency Exchange 2018 konzentriert er sich auf die Forschung zu Exoplaneten und arbeitet dabei eng mit WissenschaftlerInnen des Departments für Astronomie der Universität Genf in Versoix zusammen. 

Info

Website

www.georgemahashe.co.za